1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Need Help Printing With Raptor PLA

Discussion in 'Printing Filament' started by Adam Timmons, Nov 19, 2017.

1. Adam Timmons

Adam Timmons New Member

I hope I clicked on the right button.

I have been attempting to work with Raptor for a few months now. It's not Raptors fault per se I have also been remodeling my house. I can only get Raptor to extrude at 245C. with 60C bed temp but printing stops after a few layers or even a couple of hours.

I have had a myriad of advice on what to do but none of it works. Green Frog tape on PEI does not make sense. or work. That is what the PEI is for.

I can get started with the TARDIS drinking cup I want to make for my daughter and myself but my TAZ5 stops printing after a few layers. My best guess is that the nozzle gets clogged and the heater turns off. Once the nozzle turns off I have to do cold pulls before I can start printing again because Raptor seems to clog easily.

I am very frustrated. I could use some help please with settings as I am a newbie to 3D printing. Honestly I am bewildered by the settings and need to get to something that will work for "table ware" like cups that I can drink out of then run in the dish washer. I also have broken house wares that need printed parts because they aren't availalble from the manufacturer. I am using Simplify3D and Cura both. Neither gets the job done but Simplify is more effective than Cura.

Any input anyone has I am anxious to hear. I would also entertain and indeed clap for any sage advice on settings.
    Adam Timmons

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Season the hotend?

Maybe try an oiler if the seasoning helps

Not really familiar with the TAZ (@Geof might be). However if the extruder stops trying to push filament out that is a completely different issue than a clog.

3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ