1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Printing with ABS.

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Bruno Albuquerque, Dec 22, 2017.

1. Bruno Albuquerque

Bruno Albuquerque New Member

First of all, I am new to all this 3D printing business and just got a Robo R2 for xmas. I was able to print with the included red PLA filament without issues and was actually pretty satisfied with the quality I got.

Then I bought some generic ABS filament from amazon just to experiment (bought a few different brands, none of which was Robo) and tried to print with it but the filament would not stick at all. I even tried buying Buildtack and using it but although the filament now stick somewhat, it would always end up getting loose from the bed at some point and I had to abort the print. I have some questions about this:

1 - In general terms, would I have better success with Robo-branded ABS? It is almost double the price compared to the ones I bought.
    2 - Is loading a generic ABS filament in the printer as "Robo ABS" ok? Should I create different profiles for different ABS brands? If so, based on what?
    3 - Is there anything I am missing that would help getting ABS to stick to the bed?

On a tangentially related note, I could not find replacement PEI sheets for the R2 on Robo's site (I was looking just out of curiosity. Not that I think that I need one now). If I ever need one, are they generic so I can buy it anywhere (taking into account the bed dimensions, of course). Also, should I remove the PEI sheet if I want to use Buildtak (because I just applied it over the PEI sheet)?

Thanks in advance.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

1. No.
    2. Yes, it is as good as what anyone sells in almost all cases.
    3. You can try things like this: https://airwolf3d.com/shop/wolfbite-prevents-3d-printed-parts-from-warping/