1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

E3D Titan Extruder Top

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by WheresWaldo, Jan 5, 2018.

1. Larry Garrido

Larry Garrido Member

So besides the extruder/stepper what else is needed to make this modification? All cables wiring plug and play? If using the smaller stepper does there still need to be adjustments made to the firmware for E-Steps? You listed a couple different steppers in this thread or is one for the destructive top and a different one for the non-destructive top? Sorry for all the questions but yea Im a 3D printing newb.

Thanks! awesome stuff here!

2. WheresWaldo

WheresWaldo Volunteer ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)
    Staff Member

I would not suggest anyone do the destructive modification. For that matter, I wouldn't suggest that anyone without good mechanical skills do the non-destructive modification either. The first stepper used was the original supplied by Robo the second stepper was a much smaller stepper motor that E3D recommends.

Yes you have to recalculate the ESteps is you want to use this extruder, it has a 3:1 ratios over most direct drive extruders. ESteps for this extruder are about 435, default Robo Extruder is 145.5.

Geof likes this.
  3. Larry Garrido

Larry Garrido Member

Thanks WheresWaldo

The mechanical skills I have no problem with, in fact my printer sits in my machine shop and I design and fabricate things almost on a daily basis, mostly out of Titanium or 7075 aluminum, what I do lack experience in and need help with is the programming of the machine part to make the modifications work, I will learn it, Im just new to this.

For instance you say I will need to recalculate the steps but I don't have any idea how to do that, I know very little about gcode but again I will learn it.