1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Stock Robo3d to bowden

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by Galaxius, Feb 5, 2014.

1. Galaxius

Galaxius Well-Known Member

The Robo3d is my first 3d printer and I'm totally new to the field. I'm thinking about upgrading mine to an E3D hot end but am wondering what would be involved in changing the Robo3d to work with the bowden version by using the stock parts. I'm assuming I can move the extruder and mount it to the external of the case, with some additionally printed brackets/parts, and then connect a bowden tube to the bowden version of the E3D or alternative print a bowden connection for the stock J Head to use.

The problem is I don't know where to start. Ideally I'd like to start by printing a bowden connector plate to use with the stock J Head as a proof of concept before buying an E3D. It would also prove to be a valuable resource for other Robo3ders.

On a side note, I've been looking for a fan shroud design for the stock Robo3d to cool the cold end and only the tip/plastic of the hot end as I'm experiencing too big of a temperature drop (10ish degrees C) when the fan kicks in on the 2nd layer along with the slight intended temperature drop. I'm currently printing with PLA but want to get that down pat before moving to ABS.

Sorry if this is the wrong thread to post this but I'm hoping it will turn into a great mod(s) for the stock Robo3d.

2. Melody Bliss

Melody Bliss New Member

Hi Galaxius. Is there a particular reason you want to switch the Robo 3D to Bowden instead of direct drive? Are you having a problem? Or is this just a proof of concept you can do so?