1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

The grandiose ideal of home 3D printing

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Wesley Knapp, Mar 1, 2019.

1. Wesley Knapp

Wesley Knapp Active Member

The demise of many 3D printer upstarts over the past half-decade, forces me to ponder; How could the pervasive concept of home 3D printing for the masses have been so wrong?

I'm going to blame it on the iPhone. Hear me out...
    Apple succeeded in convincing everyone that they invented the "smartphone." They did not. I had been using a Windows Mobile phone for more than two years before the release of the first iPhone. This phone had a relatively large touch screen, a Micro SD card slot, Windows Mobile apps, MP3 player, stereo speakers, a built in 3MP camera, USB to PC connectivity and sync. Sound familiar?
    To me, the dumbing down of America came with the release of the iPhone. The masses soon adjusted to advanced technology that required no technical knowledge to operate. They accepted the fact that they could only use apps available through the manufacturer, they had no choice of OS, eventually not even having the choice of using wired headphones, etc.
    Now, in hindsight we can look at the introduction of the home 3D printer as a foray into the future. But the introduction was made to a new reality of polished, stylized tech that required little knowledge of how or why it worked. It just did
    As we all know, 3D printing to this day is still very much a technical skill with knowledge of it's inner workings essential to achieving an acceptable result.
    I surmise that until there comes a true plug-n-print offering - an "iPrinter3D," 3D printing for the masses will never become a reality.

Sent via PixelXL3 using Tapatalk.

Geof likes this.
  2. WheresWaldo

WheresWaldo Volunteer ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)
    Staff Member

@Wesley Knapp

Preaching to the choir.