1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

I just want to replace the hot end.

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by Joseph Stevens, Sep 13, 2019.

1. Joseph Stevens

Joseph Stevens New Member

I can't wait for parts direct to get a new shipment, I just need a link to something I can order from Amazon, plug it into the R2 I've been saddled with at work, and have it start printing.

I can't keep spending my own money (I'm a teacher) on parts HOPING that they'll fit. I also don't have the time, energy, or interest in 3D printing to do any more fruitless research on which parts are compatible with which machines.

And now I have to spend my Friday night in my classroom trying to fix our R1+. Thanks in advance.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

This is the R2 forum, let me move this to the R1 section
    Wait... are you actually asking about the R2?

3. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

The R2 can ONLY use the hexagon out of the box. Unlike the R1+ (which you could easily swap to another hotend) the R2 can not easily use a different one.

You can get one from PartsBuilt (who now has Robo parts) or from Amazon (but that will require a bit of tweaking to wire in).
    Sadly PartsBuilt is (ATM) out of stock, but ping them and see when they may get more.

There is a way to convert the R2 to E3D (for example) but it means printing parts for a new carriage (there is a thread on this if you are interested)

supercazzola likes this.
  4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

If you can get one from PartsBuilt specifically for the R2 then it will be easier to plug in.

IMHO the R1/R1+ was a far more versatile machine in terms of being able to reconfigure it or swap to different components. Heck if you wanted to use an E3D on the R1+ you printed a new quick-release bar and plugged it in.

5. mark tomlinson

Staff Member