1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Trying to print a calibration cube.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by George R Timmis, Jan 2, 2020.

1. George R Timmis

George R Timmis New Member

So I just got my robo3d R1 and a copy of simplify3d. I cleaned up the rails and put lithium grease on them.

I went to print my first print a calibration cube to see how well the machine can print and what adjustments I may need to look into.

Well the first layer seemed to be doing fine, but as the print continued the results got worse. It seemed to not be lifting the Z high enough to start the next layer. I tried two times with nearly the same results.

I'm new to 3d printing and I have no idea what could be causing this problem.

Could I get some advice? Thank you so much in advance. I attached a picture of the two cubes

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Where did you get the printer (is it new)?
    Which model is it exactly (the R1 is not new, the R1+ was the last R1 model)?

[note that the Beta, the R1 and the R1+ LOOK almost the same, but they are different mechanically]

Has anyone messed with the firmware on this printer at some point?
    Obviously if it is new that is less likely, but we have no clue :)

3. George R Timmis

This printer is not new. I got it from an uncle that sadly passed away. I'm not sure how to tell whether it is the r1 or r1+. I'm also not sure about the firmware could I flash the firmware back to stock or an updated firmware?

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

Yes, but you must first know exactly which one you have :)
    Sort of a Catch-22.

If you have pictures of the bed and the point where the Z rods -- the threaded ones -- go into the bottom of the case from the top -- we can figure out which one you have. It could simply be that it needs a mechanical leveling (without knowing your model we can't assume anything).