1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Gantry vs Belts vs Step motors what is the problem

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Ian Schilf, Feb 8, 2021.

1. Ian Schilf

Ian Schilf New Member

Hello all.

I am an industrial technology teacher in Montana. I have 2 Robo R2 printers and both appear to be acting up. I will go over the individual machines symptoms.
    Machine 1
    Prints lean hard on Y axis. On a 45mm tall print the lean is approximately 10mm.
    The machine is making a grinding noise on a x axis but not under manual control. Only when it is orienting the nozzle to the bed before printing begins. While watching the belts they are moving freely. I am watching the x step motor and seeing the backside of the x motor shaft kind of pulse in sync to the noise I am hearing. Could the motor be on its way out the door? I am looking at replacing the step motor to gantry belt but I am not sure if that is the solution. Any help would be helpful.

Machine 2
    Same grinding noise as M1 on the x but without the lean on Y.

We have redone the bed calibration multiple times, and the z offset, I have rehomed them. I have also checked for software updates. I have printed the gantry alignment tools on my other printer and begin that process but I do not think it would cause the grinding noise.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

In Over My Head in a Montana Classroom

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Grinding is usually the endstop (one of them -- which ever axis is grinding) not getting triggered.
    My C2 had issues with the Y axis endstop getting knocked out of position.

Sanity check them

3. Lance Weston

Lance Weston Active Member