1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Doesn't print whats showing on screen

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Terry Dowis, Apr 4, 2015.

1. Terry Dowis

Terry Dowis New Member

Hello, I'm very new to this 3d printing, matter of fact, I'm new to the 3 d modeling software. So we did the drawing attached, and when we print it, for some reason it fills in at the base of the 45 angle and it also cuts a little of the top off. Robo support told me to adjust my z axis, and i did their recommendations with no change at all. We've designed it in Rhino 3d and in sketchup to the same result. any. When i have it show the layers, it shows it exactly how it prints, but not in the print preview.. any ideas? Im pulling my hair out on this one, we've redrawn it several times, uninstalled and reinstalled matter control, tried it with a different machine... any ideas? pill thingy.jpg mattercontrol.jpg

2. Bulldog3D

Bulldog3D New Member

By any chance do you have rafts on your print settings?

3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Mike Kelly likes this.
  4. Bulldog3D

Bulldog3D New Member

So your slicer shows you that it is filling in the center there? How is that possible without support material? Can you show us a picture of the bottom of that actual print? I'd like to see what those middle horizontal layers are sitting on.

5. Terry Dowis

Terry Dowis New Member

I don't remember seeing "rafts" anywhere in the print settings...

6. Printed Solid

Printed Solid Volunteer Admin
    Staff Member

It looks like your model has some non manifold features. Can you post the STL file so I can explain to you what exactly the problem is and how to fix it?

mark tomlinson likes this.
  7. Terry Dowis

Terry Dowis New Member

There is nothing to support for the fill, it just starts filling across, it sags at first, then eventually builds up.. IMG_20150404_125000.jpg

8. Terry Dowis