1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

My first project is to fix the printer itself. I am a total newb and hope someone can help me

Discussion in 'Show and Tell' started by Pandariot779, Dec 1, 2015.

1. Pandariot779

Pandariot779 Member

I just got the printer yesterday off of craiglist and was so excited I started to print a bracelet for my friend.
    [​IMG]

Happiness and enthusiasm filled me. and i was mesmerized by the printer doing its work

[​IMG]

i notice some strings and globs forming. I wondered what was wrong. so i changed the settings on matter control; i increased the retraction and tried decreasing the extrustion rate. (i also didnt notice that the hot head was loose in this photo)

my very first print was a disaster but we will soon figure out what the problem is.
    [​IMG]

and the .....
    [​IMG]

hot end fell off. Apparently the person who own the printer before me had a screw loss and filament was building up between the extruder and the filament feed. so over time it was gradually pushing the extruder out. I do not know how to repair it and i hope some one can help me fix my printer.

I was really looking forward to creating costumes and cosplays for friends and family and show off my autocad maya designs.

if anyone can give show me how to fix my printer. please let me know. I am willing to buy a new extruder as i plan to build larger sized projects.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Well, you can (maybe) repair the hotend. It might just need to be reassembled (correctly). Or you can replace it.
    If you are going to replace it I'd suggest an E3D.

Here is a video of the hotend assembly so you can understand how it should be put together:

If you decide to replace it and you are in the US: http://printedsolid.com/collections/accessories-and-upgrades/products/e3d-hot-end-kit-v6

Otherwise http://e3d-online.com/E3D-v6