1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

My first project is to fix the printer itself. I am a total newb and hope someone can help me

Discussion in 'Show and Tell' started by Pandariot779, Dec 1, 2015.

1. danzca6

danzca6 Well-Known Member

I can post mine when I get home tonight. That thread pretty much tells you all you need. The only variable you will need to change in the start code is your z offset. That will be when you get your nozzle back in place. I started with Z-1.0. The more negative the number the higher the nozzle is off the plate. So when you print your first print with the E3D, just look at the first layer and make adjustments to get the right squish. Also look at http://community.robo3d.com/index.php?threads/visual-troubleshooting-guide.3017/ to start getting an idea of what certain issues look like on a print. Helps to be familiar with these so when you print you can know if something is wrong or not. It takes time to learn everything, but until Amazon gets your nozzle to you, I guess you have time to read. :)

2. danzca6

oh, just thought of this. While you are inspecting the printer, check for cracks on the bottom z smooth rod supports or the plastic connectors for the Y axis belt to the bed rails. They sometimes crack and can cause you issues. No worries. As long as it prints, you can get the models for new ones off of thingiverse. Let me know if you need the links to some. My robo was refurbished off of eBay from Robo's ebay storefront (Robo3dprinter). I had to kinda go over things as well to make sure she was right. For the most part, worked like a charm straight out of the box. Found some issues later, but support from folks here made it easy to find solutions and get things right.

Also make sure your belts are tight, but not too tight. Plucking them should sound like a guitar string. Too tight will be bad and might break things.

3. danzca6