1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

New Calgary Robo R1 Owner

Discussion in 'Canada' started by Karl Bareham, May 4, 2016.

1. Karl Bareham

Karl Bareham New Member

Hey guys,
    So my printed just arrived at my house so I can't wait to get off work and break into that box. Very excited to do some printing!
    I have 4+ years of 3d modeling experience and I am a 3d modeler/design for a custom control room design/manf. company. I primarily use Autodesk Inventor and have experience with Solidworks and AutoCAD so I am very proficient in my modeling skills.
    I have a big interest in automotives and already plan to be printing various auto accessories such as license plate frames/deletes, gauge pods/mounts, etc.

What are some of the upgrades I should printing right away? I was already planning on printing the feet for the printer as well as some fan ducts to help channel the extruder fan.
    I've heard that some people don't like the MatterControl software for printing, anyone have a preferred software to use instead of this?

Excited to get into the 3d printing game!

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Luv SolidWorks. We use it.
    You just need to experiment and see what your filament tolerances are for shrink/swell and you can crank out some spiffy models that just print right up.

3. LumpyDVC

LumpyDVC New Member

Welcome Karl!

You will enjoy your printer.

I'm in Red Deer

4. Karl Bareham

Karl Bareham New Member

Thanks guys! Any mods you would recommend to start with? I want to start off by doing all the upgrades I can for my Robo.

5. LumpyDVC

LumpyDVC New Member

Upgrades I would recommend
    Feet
    Filament quick change
    Wire chain

Look for spool holders that are not mounted above Robo. New heat beds are expensive. ;-)

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

6. josh.2o

josh.2o New Member