1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

ROBO arrived... broken

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by 1d1, Oct 28, 2013.

1. 1d1

1d1 Active Member

Finally. The Fed-Ex guy brought my ROBO today and upon opening it, the boro/heated bed was in pieces. It is completely split across the rear two mounting studs and renders the printer unusable at the moment. One corner is shattered so I would guess it got some rough treatment along the way. Further, the Z axis rods were free floating out of their sockets. Having replaced them where they apparently belong, the whole z-axis assembly is still remarkably wobbly. Achieving repeatable results would shock me with this sort of play. However, I am a NOOB - should this assembly have a vast amount of play?
    Also, the screw provided for the filament holder dowel is a very nice stainless unit.. a couple of sizes too large for the insert in the dowel.
    I have submitted an e-mail to the ROBO guys and hope to hear back soon. It is exceptionally frustrating to have waited for so long, get it, and still not be able to use it. I shall be disassembling things later today and at least take the opportunity to check, lube, tighten and cry.

2. NickW

NickW New Member

Man that sucks. I am sure your situation will be taken care of quickly concerning the BORO glass. if you don't hear from the ROBO guys within a day or two I would recommend sending a message to Harry, he seems to be well connected with them and as far as I can tell assisted with other matters very quickly. I am also a NOOB with 3d printers like you so I am interested in seeing what seasoned members say about the filament holder screw, I feel like that would have to be done purposefully if it is wrong. Finally I would venture that the z axis assembly would need to be tightened somewhere, however I don't know how to tighten it, if I am even right. Good luck with everything and I hope you can print soon!

3. 1d1