1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

X - Idler with Dual Cable Chains for wire management

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by Ezra Ehrhard, May 23, 2016.

1. Ezra Ehrhard

Ezra Ehrhard Member

Thingiverse location : http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1583484

Hey guys. I originally showed the start of my work in the main titan thread and it was suggested I create a separate thread so it will be easier to locate.

I have been tinkering like crazy with my Robo since I got it a couple months ago. One of the things that bothers me is the wire management. My robo gets squirrely at about 180mm on the z axis and I have had the stepper come unplugged as well as the Z switches. I was looking for a better way to manage all of the cables. I decided to enhance the X - Idler where the stepper mounts to allow for a cable chain to be mounted that will go to the carriage and another that will mount to the floor of the robo and run up the sidewall. This design should allow for the case to be removed easily. I finally have everything printed out and its looking pretty good. I am waiting for some new bearings before I will do the install but I figured its probably now shareable.

I am using the cable chain I modeled and will be using this with YogiG's Titan mount, he has designed a mounting bracket to attach to his carriage. Both the carriage and the bracket are available here and in this thread.

Cable Chain is here.

[​IMG]

In my latest version I have separated the idler from the chain mount due to issues with printing orientation affecting part strength. The chain mount should be printed on its side to ensure that chain connections are strong and flexible.

[​IMG]

[​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Older version but same idea:
    [​IMG]

Look forward to your feedback!

Ezra

2. Yogi

Yogi Member