1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

ABS not extruding

Discussion in 'United States of America' started by Jesse Koering, Dec 20, 2016.

1. Jesse Koering

Jesse Koering New Member

Hello all!
    I am very new to 3d printing, I just got the ROBO 3d r1+ 2 days ago.
    I have already put around 8 hrs on it; but I am now encountering a problem I have not been able to solve. I have been trying to print a 8.75 hr job using ABS instead of PLA. After about 35-45 mins into the project the filament stops extruding. I have try increasing heat and lowering my speed but it still stops extruding and the wheel digs into the wire.
    Any ideas?

Thank you,
    Jesse

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Hi Jesse welcome to the group. One thing to check is to see if while connected to usb you get an error code in the gcode terminal, Im expecting the temlerature may be falling. What temps are.you printing at, and are you sure you need abs ? Its very hard to print with...so hard of all my printers i only have one machine that does it well

3. Jesse Koering

Jesse Koering New Member

I am printing my ABS @ 250 & 80 for the bed. I was told ABS is stronger to build with compared to PLA. I am trying to make a butt stock for an ar15 for my friend as a present and wanted to ensure that it will be strong and not crack. How would i see if there is a code? I am using Matter Controller at the moment and nothing has popped up at the begging, middle, or end of the build (like a pop up window.)

4. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

I cant speak for matter control.its been a few years for me. Maybe @Toro1966 , @danzca6 or @Rigmarol can assist with that but there should be a gcode communication console.

If they cant help out, ping matterhackers (they wrote it) but im sure one of them will jump in to help out

#4 Geof, Dec 20, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2016
  5. Jesse Koering