1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

New Kickstarter Robo 3D owner with questions

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Paladin, Mar 19, 2017.

1. Paladin

Paladin New Member

OK, I've spent the day doing some work on my recently purchased, used kickstarted Robo 3D. The learning curve is steep but I'm making progress. I've managed to print a few pieces of a top mounted spool holder although after completing the first piece I read some posts on here mentioning that they're a bit of a risk as the spool may fall and break the bed. I'm continuing to print the parts as a way to learn how to use the printer combined with the fact that it didn't come with any type of spool holder other than the clear acrylic rod that came with the kickstarter spool holder, which is only part of that spool holder..

Forgive me if I get my terms mixed up, I'm still a noob! Also sorry for asking so much in one post.
    For reference, I decided to follow the Robo video for how to set up the printer so I'm currently using Matter Control for software.

Anyway, now for some of my observations and questions.

The printer has:
    'drawer slide' Y axis
    non metal J-Head
    glass heated bed
    single Z axis switch on right side

Some questions:
    The heated glass bed doesn't work. I have checked the option in Matter Control, but it won't heat. I unplugged the wires and have about 1.4ohms resistance between them. I plugged the wires back in and clicked pre-heat in Matter Control, but there was no voltage on the wires. I tried this with the hotend and it does show 12v across the wires while heating. I swapped the thermister between hotend and bed, and proved that part works. I'm thinking maybe it's a firmware or software issue but I don't know what to check next.

The printer came with parts of an E3D V6 hotend, but not the complete kit.
    E3D_1.jpg E3D_2.jpg