1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Delay In Extrusion (Nylon)

Discussion in 'Printing Filament' started by Shaun, May 22, 2017.

1. Shaun

Shaun New Member

Hi All Newbie here., I tried using the search but coming up with blanks, I recently purchased a Robo R1 Plus 3D printer, all was going well testing out prints with the PLA that came with the kit.

The idea was to move onto Nylon..... I would appreciate any help i can get on the matter.

Im having an issue with a delay during extrusion.. (IE if i press the extrude button on the control panel menu the gear rotates around for a few seconds before any nylon starts coming out, this also happens during print which of course

Ive spanned the recommended temperature range 250-275 and cant seem to get any joy.

Now ive just switched back to the PLA and that extrudes instantly, im a bit stumped.

Could anyone recommend anything i could try?

Cheers in advance.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

You don't say which flavor of nylon, but all nylons have some flexibility, some are more flexible than others. With the GregsWade it will be just as you describe -- a delay when starting to extrude. This is due to the filament compressing in the hotend. I have printed a lot of nylon (it is one of my favorite materials) and if you can tell me which blend it is I can get you some more information on settings.

You will want to experiment and note what settings work best with each blend.
    A rule of thumb is that it will be hotter and slower than most other filaments.

Geof and Shaun like this.
  3. Shaun

Shaun New Member

Thank you for the response Mark..

The Nylon im trying to use is found on RS Components Part Number 832-0507

I've been experimenting a little, the nozzle is defo going to need a proper clean up after this...

Any pointers would be appreciated..

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

What type of nylon is it?