1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Question on Cura profiles

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by kick4h4, Jul 5, 2017.

1. kick4h4

kick4h4 New Member

Hi,

I'm a robo C2 n00b, though I've been printing for about 3 years, now. I'm coming from a Flasforge Creator Pro, which died. I'm more interested in using these days than tinkering, and the C2 looked to be a great way to dial back the constant tweaking. I know, there's always going to be tweaking, but i was hoping to minimize it.

My workflow in previous days was to use either slic34 or mattercontrol as my primary build tool. The flashforge doesn't read gcode, so for slic3r, I'd have to run gpx on the gcode to generate a machine-readable .x3g file. Mattercontrol, though less friendly as a slicer, automated running the actual prints.

In that workflow, I did have control over what I consider to be some important aspects of my projects; infill, supports, temperatures, you know, minor things like that.

I'm finding the robo to be very frustrating. I do not run windows or Mac, and I was looking forward to being able to use the octoprint server in the machine as my build tool.

I'm finding that the permiters settings and infill are way too dense for the small figurines and toys that I usually try to print.

What I'm finding in the short term is that there's pretty much no actual control that I can utilize at this point.

I can't seem to find descriptions of the actual profile parameters of the default slicing profiles installed with the octoprint server, which might help me as a starting point. Has anyone in this forum been generating non-default slicing profiles that might offer a bit more flexibility?

Google is not returning a lot of success in figuring this stuff out. I would actually like to be able to run slic34, generate gcode with correct start and stop instructions, and load that into octoprint. Would that work?