1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Custom PC Parts and Tools

Discussion in 'Projects' started by WheresWaldo, Mar 12, 2017.

1. WheresWaldo

WheresWaldo Volunteer ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)
    Staff Member

So I found another use for my Robo3D R1+++ printer. Custom parts and water loop jigs for the CAD workstation I am building. Now that I have some experience with just completing my first custom water loop in a PC, I now have two more chances to get it right.

First I have my daughter's PC to finish up. Her's is a rebuild but is waiting on EVGA and Newegg. Different story and only has two 3D printed parts. Here is what I am doing with my soon to be specified CAD workstation. It will have lots of 3D printed parts, mostly done on the Robo.

I already have a case, power supply, radiators, fitting, reservoir, pump, and various other bits and pieces. I started with the case. I wanted something big. After fighting with my first loop to cram everything into a mid-tower case, this one is a bit bigger and more versatile. Starting off with a be quiet! Dark Base Pro 900. It is plenty big enough to have large radiators and a few other goodies all inside the case. As a bonus it has a Qi Charger built into the top of the case and a tinted tempered glass panel on the side. One of the big pluses for me was the fact that the whole case can be disassembled down to the frame and reassembled inverted. That is how I am starting. I got the Black/Orange colorway version of the case.
    dark-base-900-series-bequiet-title-cover-logo-gamoha.png

Solid orange Hatchbox PETG was almost a perfect match for the existing orange trim of the case

The first thing I wanted to do was to dress up the fan screws supplied with the case. I have cup washers on all the screws on my multi-rotor and wanted the same look for the PC, so I modeled and printed out a dozen of these little things.
    fan_screw_cup_washer.png