1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

R2 Click and Snapping Sounds

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Echoshard, Jun 30, 2017.

1. Gary Boyce

Gary Boyce Member

I had to grease all the x/y rod bearings on both sides of the bearings to get rid of that loud clicking noise.

2. Redriche

Redriche Member

What kind of filament? When I was printing luminous/glow in the dark it did the same thing. Print in PLA, no clicks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Gary Boyce

Gary Boyce Member

PLA, at 200C

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

4. bdk127

bdk127 New Member

I have (had) the same issue on the X and Y axis (cracking noise). Seems to be a common problem, but not always caused by the same thing! So I thought about it for some time after reading some of the replies, I was thinking how does a perfectly functioning printer do this? Well to me (an engineer by trade) decided there was nothing wrong with the alignment (perfect prints), so it had to be something else. I found a suspect in this case... It was the black plastic bushings rubbing up against the flat washers on the frames at the ends of the rods. I decided to try putting a very small amount of 3 in 1 oil on the end of a toothpick where the bushing meets the washer. The end result.... A PERFECTLY quiet printer again like the day I TOOK IT OUT OF THE BOX!

This may not solve your problem but very likely could, and it is an easy and cheap fix to a very annoying problem! YMMV.

Brian

supercazzola and jwmueller like this.
  5. jwmueller

jwmueller Active Member

@bdk127 - I saw that on one machine, and then on a repaired machine while replacing the rods I got it a bit too tight and received the chalkboard of death screech. This was the metal pulley rubbing on the full face of the bearing.