1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Answered Help! Prints suddenly brittle

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by BronStoppable, Nov 6, 2017.

1. BronStoppable

BronStoppable Member

So I’m new to having my Robo R1 plus and slowly getting the hang of it. I’ve been able to print small things 8 times out of 10. Last week i was printing a secret shelf off thing and things turned for the worst. One part came out fine. I took it off the bed, clicked to print the second part and that print came out flimsy and looking unfinished with a weird like nutterbutter texture. Since then all my prints have been doing it and i can’t figure out why. Please help.

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

3. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

@BronStoppable looks like a partial jam? What material and settings? all the links mark has above are awesome and suggest bookmarking them. They make a good read.

4. BronStoppable

BronStoppable Member

Pla
    temp 210/ bed 60..
    I used glue stick or painters tape.

I'll defiantly check them out. It started out of no where so it kind of threw me off.

5. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

if you have some conola oil in your kitchen put some on a paper towel. Remove the filament from your hotend, run the paper towel with conola oil around the filament (you'll see the filament get a sheen of the conola oil on it) and reinsert and run a few hundred mm through the extruder. This will season the hotend. Without changing anything else try your print again. PLA loves to microclog and adding an oiler really does help :D but this will tell you if its that or something else

6. BronStoppable

BronStoppable Member