1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

All set up and printing thanks to this forum!

Discussion in 'United States of America' started by NTWKMAN, Jan 1, 2018.

1. NTWKMAN

NTWKMAN New Member

Hello!

Greetings from Minnesota,

I bought the R1+ on the end-of-the-year sale and it's been running for about three days now, I just want to thank this forum for all the archived information - without it I would have been lost!

I am a hobbyist 3D modeler, I have been using Blender on and off for at least 5 years. I've been working on designing my own Star Wars cosplay armor for a while now, but only planned on using the models as a reference. I looked into 3D printers a few years ago, but everything that I wanted in a printer would have cost way too much. I found the R1 again, having first seen it's original Kickstarter, and the price was now within my range and had the features I wanted (pre-built, auto bed-leveling, heated bed). Without an account here I looked at maybe 50 different posts on troubleshooting, setup and mods. I also maybe watched 5 hours of reviews/setup/troubleshooting/modding videos as well.

I might have psyched myself out since I watched and read about so many issues, I thought that it might be a bear of a time getting the printer going. I did have a z-offset issue, but that was about it. I stuck with MatterControl, made some changes the the gcode, preheated and filled the filament (again following info from here). From out of the box to printing it was about an hour and a half - due to my over cautious nature.