1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Flashforge Dreamer Mod Help

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by JustinDS89, May 5, 2018.

1. JustinDS89

JustinDS89 Member

Hello all!

I have a unique situation and I'm having some issues.

I upgraded my Dreamer with a Titan extruder and e3d v6 hotend.

In order to get this to work I upped the extrusion multiplier to 3.80 and it prints great... sometimes.

After awhile through a print it starts chewing through the filament until it wears it in two.

Any idea what is causing this. Up until it does that it works great!

2. JustinDS89

JustinDS89 Member

I have tried increasing and decreasing tension on the filament just to see what would happen and it still does it either way. I'm a bit at a loss here as this is my first time doing something like this or messing with the Titan extruder.

3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

No experience with either the specific printer or the Titan extruder, but the chewing through is due to too much backpressure when trying to extrude. Could be a temporary/intermittent clog (PLA at least will do that without seasoning) and the fact that the extrusion multiplier is cranked up just makes it worse (since you are trying to shove more through). I am not a fan of playing with the extrusion multiplier for significant changes, if it is that far out of kilter then the extruder needs to be calibrated. Fix the problem, not fight the symptoms :)

Geof and JustinDS89 like this.
  4. JustinDS89

JustinDS89 Member

Thanks for the reply!

It isn't actually out of calibration. The titan extruder has a gear ratio that comes in to play. So you have to either adjust e steps or up the multiplier to compensate for this.

I can't change e steps on the Dreamer to my knowledge though.

5. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

Uhh, that is exactly what calibrating the extruder does you know :)

Maybe watch Toms excellent video: