1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Any success (or failure) with R2 and NylonX?

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by adikted2astro, Jan 28, 2019.

1. adikted2astro

adikted2astro Active Member

Looking for some pointers. I have to print some rather large parts and I want to do so with NylonX. But I have never used it before. I've read that PVA on glass is good for adhesion, but I'm a little worried about the hotend temp. Last year, I was printing parts with TPU, which has a very high extrusion temp. I ran into a problem with the extruder because it apparently got too hot and just stopped pushing the filament through the hotend. I really don't want this to happen halfway through a 20 hour print. I have some heat sinks on the back of the extruder housing and I'm wondering if I should attach a fan to that heat sink.

Anyways, any help would be appreciated. I've also got some Colorfabb XT-CF20 to work with.

p.s. I was going to use Robo CF PLA, but they stopped carrying it! That sucks because it really prints well.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

We probably have some, but I have not yet used the NylonX
    ColorFabb XT-CF20 we have used -- hot bed (100c is what we used) and 255c for the extrusion temp (yours will certainly vary a bit).

I have not tried it on the C2 (or R2), but f you were getting heat creep you might have a bad fan.

3. Larry Garrido

Larry Garrido Member

I print with NylonX a lot on my R2, probably 5-6 rolls through it now and it prints beautifully! My R2 is modified with an E3D V6 and Titan extruder but it shouldn't make a difference if your using the Hex.