1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Nylon Jamming in R2

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Sparky, May 19, 2019.

1. Sparky

Sparky New Member

I've been printing lots of PETG and ABS on an R2 for several months with no problems. Over the past few days, I've been trying to print with Kodak Nylon 6 (Natural). I can make small prints with no problems, but when I try to do something large that takes several hours I invariably get a jam that usually ruins the print. I've experimented with temperatures from 235 to 280 and got jams at all of them. I tried printing at half speed (30mm/s) and seemed to get jams even faster. I can clear these jams by pausing, pulling the filament out, chopping off the part that's kinked up, and reloading it. I give it a little push to get some plastic running out of the nozzle and can resume printing - as long as I caught the jam soon enough. Here's a photo of several of the remnants that I've pulled out of the extruder:

2019-05-19 20.47.31-1-r1.jpg

I've only had one jam where I had to take the nozzle off and clean things out, and that may have simply been due to getting hot plastic into the cold break and having it freeze in there.

Nylon 6 is a fairly soft filament compared to PLA, ABS, and PETG. From the photos above I'm guessing that the filament may be binding and kinking in the tube that runs through the X-Y bearing block between the drive and the hotend. I had similar problems running TPU, but was able to overcome them by running a little hotter and a little slower. Maybe that section needs a tighter PTFE sleeve in it (I haven't looked in there to see how it's built, so just guessing.) Or maybe Kodak Nylon 6 is an overly soft filament and there's something else someone could recommend.