1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Robo 3D R1+ Ignores z-offsets

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Yacobeeb, Jul 25, 2019.

1. Yacobeeb

Yacobeeb New Member

Hello everyone thanks in advance for the help!

So I have this ROBO 3D printer for a few weeks now and can't for the life of me figure out why the z-axis offset gets ignored by the printer. I can print with no issues but I have to baby-step up the z-axis in MatterControl to the right height after it runs the start g-code to avoid it grinding into the print bed. Which is annoying and I would just like it to work as intended. I am not an expert so excuse any ignorance. I am willing to start from the top and retry things.

*This may be my problem* but when I bought this off an action website and didn't see what was inside. Turns out the glass was broken inside and I replaced with another piece of glass purchased at the thrift store as seen here. This shouldn't be an issue though because of auto bed leveling right?

Software I use:
    MatterControl 1.5 (because the newer version I guess does not work well with this printer sadly)
    Ultimaker Cura 4.1.

The firmware I have tried:
    Stock Robo 3D r1+ Firmware
    Marlin 1.1.9
    Bugfix 2.0 version of Marlin in this thread reposted by WhereWaldo here (which did work but caused other issues for more me personally. may have been something I did.)

What I have tried so far:
    -ensured both points that connect to metal rods on the z-axis were level.
    -ensured both switches were hitting the contacts correctly.
    -set offsets in the g-code of Marlin 1.1.9
    - set offsets in the start-up
    -downloaded Z offset setting plugin from Auther fieldOfView in the Cura marketplace
    -Turned off auto or hardware leveling in MatterControl as suggested in this thread here.

Let me know what other information that would be helpful or let me know where you think I should start.