1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Recommendations and Knowlage

Discussion in 'Filament' started by Dragon, Nov 10, 2019.

1. Dragon

Dragon New Member

Hey all. I would like some filament recommendations. I would like to experiment with something besides PLA (unless you have a cool color PLA) Also I've seen people having issues with certain filaments like the flexible type. So if you recommend a filament but had a learning curve please share what you've learned. I've experimented with flexible filament with my FlashForge Finder and had no issues. I'm just a hobbyist kind of printer and slowly making my own designs. Can't wait to hear your ideas.:D

Edit: Oh yeah, and where do you buy your filaments online?

#1 Dragon, Nov 10, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019
  2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Hey there,
    Flexible filaments on the Robo series requires modifications to keep the filament path constrained or flexible will noodle out.

as far as materials besides pla I print most everything so you’ll need to be more specific with what you want out of filament.

I buy from amazon, printedsolid.com, zyltech etc. no one place. If your just looking to try new stuff the founder of printer solid runs a company called makerbox. It’s a monthly box with multiple samples of different filament. The easy one is just pla, the explorer is other stuff or a box of both.

hoping all that is helpful lol

Dragon likes this.
  3. Dragon

Dragon New Member

Thanks for the reply.
    I've combed through Amazon and found a few filaments that seemed cool.

I'm willing to try other filaments other than PLA. I've seen the list of filament that the R2 can print with that pique my interest. I'm going to check out the sites you shared. I might even sign up for that monthly box also that sounds fun:D

I have my eyes on https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07VJ2RHKF/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_nT1YDb0K0ZYZ3