1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Newbie to the site, but not the printer. Got questions...

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by KNI1GHT, Jan 15, 2020.

1. KNI1GHT

KNI1GHT New Member

Hi folks. Sorry for the long post, but humor me. :) Mike here. I'm brand new to this Robo3D Forum, but definitely not to the printers. To date, I've owned/own two Robo R1 Plus Printers. Both I've had for nearly 5 years, and they've always been amazing printers and a real pair of work horses. Incredibly happy with them. Each printer has MORE than carried its weight over the years. I guess I"m fortunate since the only parts I've ever had to replace are a hot end here, an extruder tip there, and one heated print bed.

Long story short, "something" had me sold on the R1 Plus model. Enough to the point, where after owning my first R1 plus for only a year, I bought a second one just because. :) Plus to keep up with this crazy hobby.

However........

These machines are starting to finally get finicky. (that's right, nearly 5 years and they just started to mess up)I spent all night tonight reading up on "stepper drivers" and the RAMPs boards, and especially the Driver boards. . It all started with a stubborn extruder stepper that cut out on me during a print. Now, I've dealt with the occasional filament jam, but quickly found out how to avoid those.

Anyway, I read and "did" the support section of the Robo3D site, about swapping the wiring to test the stepper motor, using the software's X axis function, and the motor worked just fine. So, the next step, was to check the Driver Board....well, I have another identical R1 +, so I borrowed its driver board.

No luck still!! So Now, I'm reading the RAMPs board is probably bad.