1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

KS/Beta Rebuild

Discussion in 'Projects' started by grumplestiltskin, Mar 31, 2021.

1. grumplestiltskin

grumplestiltskin New Member

Hi all; my first post here.

I was given an R1 that is, after reading many of these threads, I believe an early KS model. It has sat unused for at least 5 years and needs some TLC.

Since it was given to me by a dear friend who spent some time trying to 'make it work', a lot of the TLC will involve 'un-fixing' my friend's good intentioned fixes. Let's just say that this is someone who should call an electrician to have a lightbulb changed for safety reasons, let alone getting the new one to work!

This will be a learning experience for me as I am new to 3D printing, but not new to electronics, mechanical repairs, and coding.

My plan is to strip the machine down and then rebuild it correctly, but also incorporating some of the mods that make it simply better. For example, the Z axis shaft rods have surface rust, so I plan on replacing them along with the LM8UU bearings. At the same time I want to replace the 5/16" threaded rods with T8 leadscrews. There are other similar upgrades that I want to incorporate, but I don't want to go down the path of modifications until the basic unit is functioning as well as it can.

Once I can post pictures I will, but at this stage I am hoping for some overall guidance. I have read many of the threads about upgrading or fixing individual components, but I am still not 100% sure exactly where I need to aim for and exactly what upgrades I should include to get there.

Thanks in advance, Dave

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

One thing to consider is to replace the Z threaded rods with leadscrews.
    (those have a stepper integrated on them with no coupler)

example: https://smile.amazon.com/stepper-External-TR8x2mm-0-07874-Printers/dp/B07GSR5Y43