1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Robo 3D R1+ - Simply unable to calibrate extruder

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by RickoT, May 19, 2021.

1. RickoT

RickoT New Member

Greetings,

This is my first time around these parts (in the world of 3d printing and this device)

I figured the first thing I should probably do out of the box is calibrate the printer since things happen in shipping. I have found a bazillion videos on how to calibrate the extruder (which all seem to use some variation of the same formula), but I CANNOT get this thing to calibrate.

I do all my measurements, follow the formula, set the value using M92 Exxx.xx, save the values (M500), and use M503 to validate the setting. Run an extrude, same (or slightly more/less) extrusion result. It just does not make sense to me.

I've even reset the values to the default hard coded settings (M502), and tried it again with no luck.

I also tried zeroing out the extruder (G92 E0) but that did not seem to change anything. Rebooted the device between setting changes/saves with no luck. I also upgraded to the Marlin v2 firmware I found on this forum, which also seemed to not do anything.(in this regard)

I should also add that I am doing all of this via an octoprint install running on an older raspberry pi (Not sure if the older model 2 B, might be causing any weirdness)

I am extremely frustrated, you would think that this would be the easy part lol.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

#1 RickoT, May 19, 2021
    Last edited: May 19, 2021
  2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Stay on Marlin 1.0.x (stock) unless you have a specific thing you need fixed that is covered by 1.1.x or 2.x
    Or at least until you get comfortable experimenting.