1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Uneven temp across Heated Bed...and warping.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Burt Geiges, Feb 4, 2015.

1. Burt Geiges

Burt Geiges New Member

Hi All,
    I'm new to this and any help will be very appreciated!
    I bought the R3D-R1 Jan 8 2015. I have printed with the sample PLA then ordered and have ABS in multiple colors. Using MatterControl. Temps are ABS default 230-C for nozzle and 80 for Heated Bed. My prints have been warping up in the same corner of the Bed on all prints no matter the configuration/orientation of the part. I have tried the Elmer's purple glue stick but still got warping. I just received PET sheets from Amazon and applied that and it seems to be just as bad. I have an IR-thermometer and scanned the bed while it was printing and at rest with the bed preheated. With bed set to 80 and sampling at half way from center of Heated Bed to inside corner of hot symbols, I got these readings starting in upper left and going clockwise around the bed.
    While printing......................... upper left 64-C, upper right 77-C, lower right 87 to 92-C, lower left 68-C. While at rest............................ upper Left 77-C upper right 80-C, lower right 75 , lower left 75 -C
    My print always warps up on the upper left side. Even something as small as the 10mm sample calibration box that comes with the software.
    Great unit, hope I can get this worked out.
    Thanks in advance!
    Burt

2. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

The heater is advertised as 8.2"x8.2". Are you measuring outside of this range?

I'd need to see a print to know what the cause is.

3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Warping is quite common with ABS. There are a *lot* of previous threads on this...
    Some people tried to help this by going (a lot) hotter on the bed (110).