1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Hello from Florida's Space Coast

Discussion in 'United States of America' started by Aaron Mitchell, Jul 4, 2015.

1. Aaron Mitchell

Aaron Mitchell New Member

Hello all,

Just ordered my Robo3D and will receive it tomorrow. I am experienced with 3D printers, as I have had a Dimension1200 in my classroom for the past 8 years and I teach Solidworks in my Pre-Engineering Academy at a local high school.

This is my first personal 3D printer and was looking for the best quality under $1000...and it looks like the Robo3D will meet all my needs. While I am no expert with the Robo3D, if anyone ever needs help with solid modeling (esp. Solidworks) feel free to drop me a message.

Question for the community: What slicer does everyone use? Do you use the default by MatterControl, Cura, or some other program? If you have used more than one of these what are the best aspects of each? The slicer I use in my classroom is proprietary to the Dimension, and I have not used any other packages yet...

Best Regards,

Aaron Mitchell
    Melbourne, FL

Printed Solid likes this.
  2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Greetings. You are a bit east and south of me :) I am in Orlando.
    Best of luck.

3. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

Mostly that.

The free slicers/printing frontends have each matured in their own way and some have gotten better (repetier and cura certainly have) others (like MC) not so much.

We use Solidworks to model with and Simplify3D for 99% of the printing.

Printed Solid likes this.
  4. Aaron Mitchell

Mark,

Is there a particular reason that you prefer the Simplify3D software over Cura or Repetier? Is it simply a workflow preference or does it provide features that the others don't? I just like to try and learn what I can about the various applications before I invest (time and money) into one.