1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

mattercontrol

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by oldfarmhand, Aug 2, 2015.

1. oldfarmhand

oldfarmhand Member

Hello all i am new to 3d printing so please don't roll your eyes when i ask this but,
    from reading forums about robo r1 most (not all ) people say don't use matter control and then they say to use
    something else. My question is why do the people that sell robo r1 push mattercontrol instead of a good program. When my robo r1 comes in i'm stuck with a program that doesn't work because i don't know how to add a good program so it makes me to want to send it back unopened because it sounds like it wont work out of the box like they said it would. can someone help me with an answer

2. Kirk

Kirk Member

Mattercontrol work fine for me until I got familiar with the processes ...it actually has quite a bit of options for beginner

Sent from my XT1049 using Tapatalk

3. Printed Solid

Printed Solid Volunteer Admin
    Staff Member

No clue why they choose to do it that way. Maybe it was in planning to use the mattertouch screen?

Regardless, it is a free program and most of the alternatives are free too (until you want to step up your game a bit, then you have simplify3D for a few $$). Just download repetier host and you'll be good to go. if you're having trouble, one of us can help you out.

Robo's secret, and generally unappreciated, weapon is this forum.

Geof and mark tomlinson like this.
  4. Kirk

Kirk Member

Very true statement.... I'm now using simplify3d and liking all the options.... But only because I understand most of them. If I would have started with it, it probably would have been a steeper learning curve.... I agree this is a great forum to have

Sent from my XT1049 using Tapatalk

Printed Solid likes this.
  5. Printed Solid

Printed Solid Volunteer Admin
    Staff Member