1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Partially Solved 20 Hr Print Quits Extruding at 7 Hrs every time.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Chris MeaD, Jan 31, 2016.

1. Chris MeaD

Chris MeaD New Member

Hey Everyone,
    I am having an issue I can't figure out. I modeled this semi-sphere with pockets that I am trying to print. Its a very simple model but it is large. Its 8" in diameter and 4" high. I am new to 3D printing I have had some issues in the past but I feel I have been getting the hang of it lately. I've printed a dozen or so things and all have been successful. Once I figured out my offset for the starting layer.

IMG_2359.JPG

So I have printed this model twice and the print stops extruding at around 7 hours both times. They quit at the exact same height the extruder just stops putting out fillament. It doesn't seem to be clogged if it is a clog would it clog at the exact time 7 hours in? The extruder keeps moving as if fillament is coming out but its not.

Also I'm using Robo Brand PLA i'm running at 210 for the extruder and 50 for the bed temp.

I've printed a few other things since then and they are printing fine. nothing as long as 7 hours though...

Does anyone have any suggestions? It seems odd to me.

Thanks,
    Chris.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Try seasoning. The sorts of clogs that PLA causes are not hoover dam style clogs.
    The filament just sticks to the inside of the nozzle and pretty much just stops extruding.

Frustrating, I know. It had me tearing my hair out when it started after almost a year of using the printer.

The oiler is a permanent solution, but seasoning alone will work for a while.
    (see the sticky thread on this)

3. Chris MeaD

Chris MeaD New Member