1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Need Help Solving X axis problem

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by akumazedex, Mar 26, 2016.

1. akumazedex

akumazedex New Member

I just got the Robo R1 plus the other day and have not been able to produce a single print yet.
    Here's the problem, after the first layer is done, the X axis gets shifted significantly to the side. I have tried using different designs with the same effect. I am completely new to the 3D printing world so my knowledge is very limited so far. I've done the basic checks (Belt tension, gear tight, rails lubed, etc) and cant figure out the problem. I slowed down the print speed significantly from what is set default hoping it would help/cure it with no change. If anyone has any ideas I'd love to hear some input.
    I have attached an example of the dog tag that comes bundled with the software.
    As you can see, the initial shift is small and gets worse from there up until the extruder runs all the way to the side and I cancel the print.

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Well that is a loose drive component.

A belt is loose
    -or-
    a drive cog on the motor for that belt is loose
    -or-
    something is mechanically getting in the way and blocking the travel.

3. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

It is possible (but rare) that this could be a bad stepper driver or bad stepper*, but the loose drive you can fix yourself so I would really validate all of that first.

:)

*that is a fairly significant shift for it to be a bad stepper or driver. That size of skip is usually a loose 'something' for that axis.

#3 mark tomlinson, Mar 27, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2016
  4. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

I agree. Always a good idea to go through and lock tight the set screws. Their tight and my tight are defianently 2 different things :)

5. akumazedex