1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved 2001 pod Model not printing correctly

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by astro boy, Apr 3, 2016.

1. astro boy

astro boy Member

Hi Everyone, pod1.jpg pod2.jpg

I'm a newbie at printing and just received my Robo r1 Plus a couple weeks ago. I've only done a few prints so far. First one came out fantastic. I was printing a model I got off sharecg of the eva pod from 2001. All the comments were pretty glowing about the model. I tried a test print at the fast quality, using simplify 3d software. I generated auto supports which seemed fine. but looking at the pics there are parts that printed great and some with a lot of gaps. I'd eventually like to scale this up and print it again at hi res. Could anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong here? I think I probably need to repair this model in the software, but I'm just not sure how to know that from the preview since it looked fine there. Of course any help would be appreciated.

2. GAmbrosio

GAmbrosio Active Member

What are you printing with? What temps?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

4. astro boy

astro boy Member

Thanks for your replies. I'm using 190 on the extruder and 80 on the bed. I'll try the links suggested for checking the models in the future. Been trying to read up as much as possible but any suggestions on things to try I'd really appreciate.

Best

5. GAmbrosio

GAmbrosio Active Member

Sounds like you are using PLA? The bed temp sounds a little high. I usually go no higher than 65 with PLA. Maybe it is getting too hot, causing the PLA to distort?

6. astro boy

astro boy Member

Thanks GAmbrosio,
    I'll try lowering my bed temp. Yes I've been using PLA. I wasn't certain of what temp to use, but I found the number somewhere online. Possibly wherever I saw it they were talking about a different material.
    Thanks