1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Sainsmart Lead Screw Wobble

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by cautioning, Aug 24, 2016.

1. cautioning

cautioning New Member

Hello all, I am new to 3d printing and just got a R1. I have been fighting z banding using all the great info you have been posting. My latest attempt is the Sainsmart lead screws as ROBO is out of stock and doesn't have an ETA on their upgrade kit. I just received one of the Sainsmarts today and I tried rotating it by hand to see how straight it was. I noticed it deviates about 2mm or so at the end, I just wasn't sure if this is in spec for them and to not worry about it, or if I should get an RMA. My shipment was split, I will get the other one tomorrow.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Contrary to simple logic, it may not matter.
    The leadscrews impart movement into the Z and the carriage is kept straight by the smooth rods*.
    A little wobble won't be noticed.

However if you don't want to try it then go ahead and get a replacement.

*if the warp in the rods was severe you might have some deflection, but 2mm across the length is not a lot. I'd try them.

jim3Dbot likes this.
  3. jim3Dbot

jim3Dbot Active Member

Hello.........My suggestion would have to be, since they are so easy to install, try'em & see what transpires.........Z bandin' improves greatly, keep them.......nope.......... RMA..... 2mm is getting close to 0.1" ...........but check with the xperts here & listen to what they have to say...........Hey "proceed with caution"..........Take Care & welcome

mark tomlinson likes this.
  4. cautioning

cautioning New Member

Thank you both for the fast responses and info. I will give them a go then and let you know what I find out. 8)

5. cautioning

cautioning New Member