1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

45 days in... going strong, but it has been a journey.

Discussion in 'Show and Tell' started by Jeff Mercado, Apr 20, 2014.

1. Jeff Mercado

Jeff Mercado Member

This is lengthy but I would have appreciated a post like this when I first received the printer so I am dropping it in here. I am now on day 45 with the printer, up and running, and I am almost through my first spool. It has been a positive experience for the most part, but I had some bumps in the road. I ironed them out quickly and I think I am almost to the home stretch (consistent results, minimal tweaking) to solid quality prints. I will outline my experience so far in the event it helps anyone who is jumping off, and fully recognize I am a total noob with little experience.

Out of the box, it was reasonably well put together (the Z-stop switch was right, in the ballpark for being calibrated (end/stop switches worked and homing got to within a couple millimeters etc). No loose fasteners. I couldn't get it to extrude on the setup (Repetier) and after an hour I realized the wiring to the extruder was installed in reverse so the gear was turning the wrong direction! Forum search solved the problem an I reversed the wires on the ramps board. Off to the races. Rough homing, manual "dynamic" leveling on the perimeters got me to producing some decent prints.