1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Detect Wire vs. Wireless, change your hostname, and add a Static IP

Discussion in 'Software' started by JohnShuba, Mar 26, 2017.

1. JohnShuba

JohnShuba New Member

I recently needed to change to a static IP address to install a camera on the Robo C2. I am new to the Raspberry OS so I am posting this to help any newbies out there. Im dating myself by saying this but In the past I have used VMS and many different UNIX OS systems and the UNIX commands are all basically the same as in the Raspberry OS and it did give me a little head start.

Prerequisites before proceeding:
    1. The Robo C2 needs to be add to your network.
    2. The ability to reserve a network address on your router. “This will be used for the Robo C2 once you give it a static IP address”
    3. The current network address of the Robo C2: “You need this to SSH into your Pi OS”
    4. Username and Password of your Pi OS: Out of the box it is username: pi and password: raspberry
    5. Download a SSH tool. “See comment below”
    6. You should always backup your Pi OS before any major configuration changes. I use a tool called Win32 Disk Imager to do this, look it up on internet there is a lot of instructions out there on how to use the tool to backup and retore a Pi image.

For all the commands below you need a SSH command terminal logged into your C2 Raspberry Pi OS. I use a tool called Putty to SSH into the OS. You also need to know how to use the nano text editor, search the internet to learn how to run the editor if you never have before. The editor is easy to use with some simple instructions.

Changing your Robo C2 hostname

You need to edit the hostname and change the “original-hostname” to your desired “new-hostname” use the following command.

sudo nano /etc/hostname