1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Different colors of the same material, different settings?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by dbvanhorn, Feb 18, 2015.

1. dbvanhorn

dbvanhorn Active Member

I have limited experience.

I have been working with Inland PLA in Green and Blue, and I have had good results after getting things dialled in. I switched to black, same material same vendor, and now the prints are peeling off the bed, and failing mid print into a mess. This run was a bunch of cylinder objects, and some of them totally failed, some tilted badly, and some warped on the bottom end pretty badly. I'm used to things coming off the bed almost mirror smooth and flat.

It looks to me like the settings I was using (210 nozzle 70 bed) are too hot. I'm retrying now at 200/60 and it looks much better.

Is it normal for what seems like almost identical material to behave so differently?

2. milks

milks Member

Just the dyes used in the material can have an effect on the settings it requires. I have a grey PLA which delaminates and comes unstuck from the bed while other colours from the exact same manufacturer print perfectly.

210C for PLA is too high and a 70C bed shouldn't be necessary either. I usually print PLA at 195-200C with a 60C bed. The lower nozzle temperature should improve bridging performance also.

3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Said it before, will say it (yet again) any two spools can have different sweet spots.
    They really can. The ranges where they print well usually are similar for spool of the same material from the same vendor (of the same age) but still may not be the same. As @milks pointed out the dyes can alter it a small amount as well.

Also as he mentioned 210 is rather hot so you might want to try lower.

A good way to test this* is to park the extruder in the middle of the bed, lift it 100mm and heat it up.