1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Error connecting to wi-fi and whistling noise

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Erica Lindström, Jul 7, 2017.

1. Erica Lindström

Erica Lindström New Member

Just tried to print a test print on my R2 an it seems OK. I can't really say since I have never used a 3D printer before.
    First layer of filament curls on the bed but final result seems fine.
    When I try to connect the printer to my wi-fi I just get an error, is there anything I can do to get my printer to connect to my wi-fi? The password is correct, tried on my iPhone. The connection shown on the display of the printer is 2/3. That should be enough, right?
    When I start (power-up) the printer I hear a whisteling noice, is that normal?

2. colton81

colton81 Active Member

The whistling noise could be from the fan inside the printer does it whistle the entire time or just for a little while and then stops? I had issued on my C2 with wifi not connecting try rebooting several times until it connects or try to temporarily move the printer closer to the router connect it then move it back and see if that works.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. colton81

colton81 Active Member

As far as curling up do you have any pictures? Shouldn't really curl with PLA if thats what your printing with. Make sure the heated bed is on and working properly

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. OutsourcedGuru

OutsourcedGuru Active Member

Your R2's included sample files should include a spiral test. You might start there and take a good look at the quality of the first layer that it lays down. It should be a nice, wide line that's squashed flat (if you look closely at it sideways), but not skirted on the sides like it's starting to form an extruded "u" shape.

From your workstation, see if you can ping the printer by name:

ping serial-number.local