1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved First Layer Un-level, Tapers to Nothing

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by leeboy4130, Sep 3, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. leeboy4130

leeboy4130 New Member

I have been using my R1 for a couple years now but something recently changed that is causing my first layer to be un-level. It will print normally on the right side (+x) and tapers to nothing at about mid travel of x-axis. On the left side (-x) the hot end drags and does not print because it is so close to print bed. Once it gets to the second layer it prints fine on all areas of the print bed and completes print.

I don't know what has changed to cause this. I am thinking the left z-axis limit switch is going bad, maybe requiring more travel to close contacts so when it does auto level it thinks that side of the print bed is lower than it actually is (or compared to right axis).

Any ideas?

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Maybe just out of position?
    Both have to be in the correct position and if one gets out of place it will through you for a loop.

3. leeboy4130

leeboy4130 New Member

By in position do you mean the threaded rod nuts are recessed within the injected molded end pieces? Yes they are both fully in place. The z-axis starting elevation looks to be off by only about 0.25mm from left to right on the x-axis. I use simplify 3-d, it does the 9 point auto level, and it just started doing this.

I question the left z axis micro switch because it is really quiet compared to the right one. Just wondering if anyone has ran into this before I start replacing parts.

Thanks

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

If you have a meter you can see if the switches are working correctly.
    If they are correctly positioned and it just started happening then you very well might have a bad switch.