1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Help please! Z axis shifting and third layer prints in air!

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by zenekNY, Sep 5, 2015.

1. zenekNY

zenekNY Member

Hi! I'm new to the 3D printing. I got my Robo3D three days ago, the first day I got it I had to take it apart to replace the power supply (had one at home). Next day I was having trouble with the first layer because after the calibration the nozzle was dragging on the bed and not letting any fillament out. I found that setting Z offset to 0.8mm helped solving it. I printed out an ideal calibration box (came out perfect 100%) turned the printer off, went to sleep and next day I wanted to print out the Platform lifters. The first two layers are perfect but the third layer prints about a 1 mm above the 2nd layer. Please help me! I keep on running in to issues with every single thing when it comes to this printer.
    There are 5 layers on this picture. [​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Reload your firmware with the correct version.
    There was a version floating around that had the incorrect Z steps and that would absolutely make a mess.

Firmware versions and instructions here:

http://guide.robo3d.com/Wiki/ROBO_3D_Firmware_Release_Notes

Once you have ruled that out then we can troubleshoot it further. The fact that the skirt and first layer look good makes me suspect the Z steps.

3. zenekNY

zenekNY Member

The Arduino IDE cannot compile the sketchbook. :(

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

Which one? There are two (which is dumb) you probably tried the wrong one,

5. zenekNY

zenekNY Member

I added the entire folder to the Arduino's directory, then opened the sketchbook "ROBO3DR1V3_06112015" from the dropdown menu file/sketchbook/ROBO3DR1V3_06112015

6. zenekNY

zenekNY Member