1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved How I switched to Mesh without really knowing what I'm doing, and LOVING the upgrade! R1+

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Rat_Patrol, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Rat_Patrol

Rat_Patrol Member

Mods: If there is a better place for this, please move it.

Machine: R1+

Obviously, I'm not a programmer or expert at any of this. That said, this may be of use for others in my situation.

This isn't step by step, but should help those less experienced users who are on the fence, but are comfortable with playing with Arduino and the firmware (remember, you can always go back to ROBO issued firmware if you royally screw it up).

Here is what I did, and how it all worked out. It really isn't that bad, and I do NOT have the on-machine reader/controller, so I did all this (including leveling the mesh) from within Simplify3D terminal.

First, here is the thread with the firmware files:
    http://community.robo3d.com/index.p...grade-1-1-0-rc8-rcbugfix-for-r1-r1-plus.5806/

I would HIGHLY advise you at least page through that thread.

After you upload the firmware, I also HIGHLY advise you have the machine home at X0 Y0, instead of the middle of the bed. As WheresWaldo said, it only makes sense to home there where the bed is strongest and least likely to flex from the probing.

From @WheresWaldo "There is a line in Configuration.h that enables something called Z_SAFE_HOMING (line # 966), you just need to comment that line by putting two slashes in the front of it. That will force Z to home at X0, Y0."

After you make all your firmware changes and save to the EEPROM, this is what I did:
    • First, make sure your machine is manually level across the X axis. Vitally important.
    • Make sure your bed/nozzle is CLEAN and cold.