1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

How to edit firmware?

Discussion in 'Software' started by cnr141, Aug 29, 2014.

1. cnr141

cnr141 Member

I been reading forum threads about the editing firmware, guys say edit the h files by arduino etc. but where is these .h files , where is these firmware files, i want to make my max temperature higer how can i do it?

People share auto bed level 6_10 files , i ve donwloaded them but i dont know where i am gonna copy them or what is supposed to do with them.

Can somebody explain it with details coz i am new with these.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

-Extract the Zip file to a directory, edit whatever you need changed in the CONFIGURATION.H
    -Download and install the arduino IDE from arduino.cc
    -Open the Arduino IDE and load the Marlin.ino (or whatever the *.INO file is with that firmware)
    -Select the BOARD type as an Arduino Mega from the menu
    -Connect and upload it to the printer (file/upload).

That is pretty much it.

Delroy Pearson likes this.
  3. cnr141

cnr141 Member

thanks man, m really greateful to you.. i ll try and let you know about the results.

4. RokleM

RokleM Member

Adjusted to answer addition question so you don't have to search like I did ;)

2 people like this.
  5. cnr141

cnr141 Member

i ve tried to upload the configuration.h file , i ve edited the max temp. but couldnt compile or upload it.. here is the error below.
    Screenshot_1.png

this is the second one i get

Screenshot_2.png

#5 cnr141, Aug 29, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 29, 2014
  6. Ziggy

Ziggy Moderator
    Staff Member

It looks like you might have tried to compile the "configuration.h" file.

Instead you need to open the file with the *.ino extension. Usually that will be something like "marlin.ino". When you do that all the other necessary files will be loaded as well. Then you can try to compile.