1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Howdy fellow Robo3d'ers. I have a Kickstarter Beta version. Where do i start?

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by Dzuy Nguyen, Aug 20, 2014.

1. Dzuy Nguyen

Dzuy Nguyen New Member

Long story short, I backed the Kickstarter campaign and got this printer awhile back. Life got in the way and I never touched it till now. So looking for suggestions on the following topic:
    1. Software? Can i use the MatterControl 1.1 on the Beta Robo3D? Or does that only support the R1 version?
    2. Firmware? Should i be using a specific firmware on this?
    3. I'm using the Getting Started video for the R1 but is there a Getting Started video for the beta version?
    4. Any tutorials that I should be following?
    5. Any gotchas that I should be looking out for with the beta version?
    Sorry for the load of questions, still a complete noob with 3D printing and I'm surfing around the forum for tips, but most things i find are related to the R1 version instead of the beta version.

2. Dzuy Nguyen

Dzuy Nguyen New Member

I think i found the answer to my first question. The MatterControl does have the option for the Robo3D Beta version. :oops:

And the SW does have the option to update the FW. So I guess that answer question number 2 then too.

3. AxisLab

AxisLab Well-Known Member

Wow, tons of good questions. I'm still running the early kickstarter version also so I can try to help.
    Mine is still the PLA, non-heated bed, is yours heated or no?

Best advice I have is as follows;
    1. Stay as far away from Mattercontrol as you can. Repetier and Cura are your friend.
    2. I'm still running the marlin 3.14 firmware, because without any of the newer autolevel stuff, there is no need to mess with it.
    3. There are a few basic videos from early on, but honestly this forum is a much better help if you spend some time on the older threads.
    4. that would be nice.