1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Just Ordered an R1 Plus

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Gripp, Apr 25, 2017.

1. Gripp

Gripp Member

Hello,
    I'm new to the forums and new to this printer. So new, I don't even have it yet. I ordered one today. I do have another 3D printer (mp select mini), so this isn't my first one. I'm still very new to 3D printing. Hopefully I'll be able to learn and contribute with these forums.

I have some questions I'd like to ask in advance of getting the printer.
    1. I've used cura 15.2.whatever the latest is and I'm also using cura 2.5 beta. I've had success with both of these. I've tried slic3er, kisslicer, and craftware but had bad luck and weird prints come out. What free slicer seems to work the best with this printer? I plan to get simplify 3D at some point in the future. Probably around summer time.

2. I looked into youtube and saw good things about this, thus why I pulled the trigger on a refurb. Does the R1 Plus still need the z access supports to be printed?

3. What other easy mods are suggest? I'm not a tech wiz on the mechanical side. Just looking for basic must haves.

4. Are there any other issues/tips I should know about before jumping in?

I'm still doing research on my own, but I like to just ask directly as well, in the case that I'll probably miss something.

Thanks
    Curtis

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

First - welcome!

A move you will not regret.

I can't say which of the free ones "work best" since I have not used them in years, but repetier host used to be my standard.