1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Answered Manual leveling on Robo R1 Beta?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Bastian, Jul 22, 2018.

1. Bastian

Bastian New Member

Hi,

I'm new to 3D printing and recently acquired a secondhand Robo R1 Beta (according to what the seller told me).

I started playing around and my first print is really off (around 1mm per layer).

Now I'm looking into leveling the bed to fix the issue, however, since the beta seems to be the only one to not have auto-leveling, I have a hard time finding any info. I understood the general concept applied to other printers but (and I feel bad saying this), I don't seems to find the screws/bolts or whatever I'm supposed to use to go through the leveling process.

Subsidiary question:
    - Is there a way to determine for sure if I have a R1 beta or a R1? Since I will need to be certain before going through firmware upgrades.

Thank you for reading this and I hope this question hasn't been asked already (I haven't been able to find answers to those questions... But I might be 4 years late!)

Best Regards,
    Bastian

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

best way to know is measure the z screws. Upload some photos of your machine? I'm assuming you didn't purchase this new and are just now playing with it so go in thinking someone may have done upgrades etc to it. to manually level the bed you need to phsyically shim the bed. Some do it under the pillow blocks (if you lift the bed you see blocks the rods go through - there) or some do it between the magnets under the bed and y frame rail. Totally up to you.

3. Bastian

Bastian New Member

Hi Geof,