1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Might be an issue with Cura, but there's a pattern

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Brian Guenther, Jun 19, 2018.

1. Brian Guenther

Brian Guenther New Member

So, just recently I received some help with a bed leveling issue from you guys, so I thought I would run something else by you now.

Full disclosure, I am extremely new to 3D printing.

So since fixing the bed leveling issue, I have been having some sub-par prints. Almost exclusively they are prints where I have modified the placement or number of objects being printed in Cura. These always print in terrible quality. No matter if I just set the offset, the nozzle goes too high and ruins the print out of the gates. I'm not changing any settings in Cura.

I can only get the objects I want to print by doing the following.

1. Completely clean print bed of all glue/tape.
    2. Z-offset wizard
    3. Load only the original .stl file into cura, no changes to size or quantity and no position changes
    4. Run the Spiral Bed Level Test included on the machine
    5. Then print the object.

I have not been able to stray from this pattern at all. I've been trying subtle variations to the order or process all day.

If I try to print a second thing after the first, even without moving or removing the print bed, the second print always fails,

Has anyone had this issue and fixed it or have ideas on how to fix it?

Thanks,
    Brian

#1 Brian Guenther, Jun 19, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2018
  2. tkoco

tkoco - -.- --- -.-. ---
    Staff Member

When you do the Z-Offset wizard, what do you use for a gap gage?

3. Brian Guenther

Hey there, I use the small card that came with the printer.

4. tkoco

tkoco - -.- --- -.-. ---
    Staff Member