1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

NEW R2 wont print test print

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Samantha Marquess, Apr 30, 2019.

1. Samantha Marquess

Samantha Marquess New Member

So this is my second ROBO R2. The first I had to replace due to bad wiring.

So I open my new printer and get everything set up and everything is running smoothly. Next step is to do a test print. When I went to files I selected a design, and then once it gets to the screen I push start and then it freezes and I cant press start or go back to the home page. Anyone know what I can do.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

What kind of file? STL or CAD?

Have you tried printing it through the browser interface (using the built-in OctoPrint) rather than the LCD?

3. Samantha Marquess

Samantha Marquess New Member

Can you explain to me how I would do this? Sorry I'm new to 3D printing.

4. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

5. Yopz3d

Yopz3d New Member

Hey I have a similar problem can use stl converter and all settings and wizards but when I attempt to start a print the printer freezes up
    I attempted to use octoprint but it’s burying my nozzle into the heat pad if I make any attempts at printing or setting the z axis.
    If anyone knows a good QuickStart guide or could advise it would be much appreciated!

6. tkoco

tkoco - -.- --- -.-. ---
    Staff Member

You will need slicing software like Cura or Simplify 3D.

Overview: You would import the model file into the slicing software, set up the printing profile, slice the model and then send the sliced file known as a G-code file to Octoprint for printing.

There are a myriad of details to accomplishing this workflow, but it is not too difficult.

Step 1) Download or create a STL file. That file contains all the information on how the model is shaped.